Gateway to Paradise

There has never been a time on Earth like we see today.  What we need are more ways to experience our interconnectedness – it is a precursor to deep love.  So in this quickening light, with the dawn of each new day, let us look for love.  Let us no longer struggle.  Let us ever become who we most want to be.  As we begin to be who we truly are, the world will be a better place.  John Denver.

Gateway to Paradise © 2016

Medium:  Watercolor, Ink, Mixed Media, New Media Giclée on Paper

It portrays: Beach, relevant to: paradise, path, seascape, tropical, watercolor, Mixed Media, palm tree, New Media, digital, ocean

“Gateway to Paradise” is a combination of watercolor, ink and digital painting. It portrays a fantasy-like dreamscape as two palms mark the gateway to another world. A meandering pathway leads to a vision of sunset beyond the river as starlights sparkle from beyond the sky like friends along the journey.

Art Prints Available: Saatchi Art: Gateway to Paradise New Media

I decided to dig out some of my old art and photography to share in my online gallery. I have only a few . . . I even one oil painting going back to my high school days.  And, while perusing my old portfolio, I came across a watercolor & ink piece that I’d started in 2008. Notice I said started . . .

It was one of those things where the feeling I wanted to portray was there, the image was there in my mind’s eye . . . I even had the sketch on paper.  I just couldn’t make it happen.

Well, fast-forward eight years to the technological advances of digital painting (and I absolutely LOVE being able to do this). I scanned my original incomplete watercolor & ink and when I went to the digital drawing board (a.k.a. iPad Pro), that same “feeling” I had wanted to portray just spilled out of me.

This work is the final result . . . “Gateway to Paradise” (© 2008-2016 HA!);  It only took me eight years to complete!

I think, technically, it’s mixed media, though the art world might say it should simply be classified as digital art. Anyway, as with all my photography and digital art pieces, I print and sign only one as my original. So it will be listed in my gallery as an original with unsigned prints available in various sizes.

I have said of all my art and photography, that there is a story behind it. Indeed, there is a story behind this one as well (besides taking eight years to complete). If you followed my blog before I made (major) changes, then perhaps you might recall the story behind the art.

Leave a Reply

